Pulitzers for Drama

2019 Fairview by Jackie Sibblies Drury

2018 Cost of Living by Martyna Majok

2017 Sweat by Lynn Nottage 

2016 Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda

2015 Between Riverside and Crazy by Stephen Adly Guirgis 

2014 The Flick by Annie Baker

2013 Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar *

2012 Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegría Hudes

2011 Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris*

2010 Next to Normal, music by Tom Kitt, book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey

2009 Ruined by Lynn Nottage*

2008 August: Osage County by Tracy Letts *

2007 Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire

2006 No Award.

2005 Doubt, a parable by John Patrick Shanley*

2004 I Am My Own Wife by Doug Wright

2003 Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz*

2002 Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks*

2001 Proof by David Auburn*

2000 Dinner With Friends by Donald Margulies

1999 Wit by Margaret Edson*

1998 How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel

1997 No award.

1996 Rent by the late Jonathan Larson

1995 The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote

1994 Three Tall Women by Edward Albee

1993 Angels in America: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner*

1992 The Kentucky Cycle by Robert Schenkkan

1991 Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon*

1990 The Piano Lesson by August Wilson*

1989 The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein

1988 Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry

1987 Fences by August Wilson*

1986 (No Award)

1985 Sunday in the Park With George; music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by James Lapine.

1984 Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet*

1983 Night, Mother by Marsha Norman

1982 A Soldier’s Play by Charles Fuller

1981 Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley*

1980 Talley’s Folly by Lanford Wilson

1979 Buried Child by Sam Shepard

1978 The Gin Game by Donald L. Coburn

1977 The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer

1976 A Chorus Line conceived, choreographed and directed by Michael Bennett, with book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, music by Marvin Hamlisch, and lyrics by Edward Kleban

1975 Seascape by Edward Albee

1974 (No Award)

1973 That Championship Season by Jason Miller

1972 (No Award)

1971 The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-In-The-Moon Marigolds by Paul Zindel

1970 No Place To Be Somebody by Charles Gordone

1969 The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler

1968 (No Award)

1967 A Delicate Balance by Edward Albee*

1966 (No Award)

1965 The Subject Was Roses by Frank D. Gilroy

1964 (No Award)

1962 How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying by Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows

1961 All The Way Home by Tad Mosel

1960 Fiorello! Book by Jerome Weidman and George Abbott, music by Jerry Bock and lyrics by Sheldon Harnick.

1959 J. B. by Archibald Macleish

1958 Look Homeward, Angel by Ketti Frings

1957 Long Day’s Journey Into Night by Eugene O’Neill*

1956 Diary of Anne Frank by Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich

1955 Cat on A Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams*

1954 The Teahouse of the August Moon by John Patrick

1953 Picnic by William Inge

1952 The Shrike by Joseph Kramm

 1951 (No Award)

1950 South Pacific by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II and Joshua Logan

1949 Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller*

1948 A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams*

1947 (No Award)

1946 State of the Union by Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay

1945 Harvey by Mary Chase

1944 (No Award)

1943 The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder*

1942 (No Award)

1941 There Shall Be No Night by Robert E. Sherwood

1940 The Time of Your Life by William Saroyan

1939 Abe Lincoln in Illinois by Robert E. Sherwood

1938 Our Town by Thornton Wilder*

1937 You Can’t Take It With You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman

1936 Idiots Delight by Robert E. Sherwood

1935 The Old Maid by Zoe Akins

1934 Men in White by Sidney Kingsley

1933 Both Your Houses by Maxwell Anderson

1932 Of Thee I Sing by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin

1931 Alison’s House by Susan Glaspell

1930 The Green Pastures by Marc Connelly

1929 Street Scene by Elmer L. Rice

1928 Strange Interlude by Eugene O’Neil

1927 In Abraham’s Bosom by Paul Green

1926 Craig’s Wife by George Kelly

1925 They Knew What They Wanted by Sidney Howard

1924 Hell-Bent Fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes

1923 Icebound by Owen Davis

1922 Anna Christie by Eugene O’Neill

1921 Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale

1920 Beyond the Horizon by Eugene O’Neill

1919 (No Award)

1918 Why Marry? by Jesse Lynch Williams






*Denotes also on 101 must-read plays list





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Melissa LaFontaine The Blog

spirituality / art / ethics

Jnana's Red Barn

Thanks for the memories and new adventures.

Still Time...

A Family Project

carotid artistry

the double functions of the external and the internal

Patrick Hurley

Musings of a Very Confused Writer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

%d bloggers like this: